A Week With Pebble

If you’re not too familiar with Pebble, the best introduction for it would be here. Pebble is a smartwatch that connects to your mobile phone via bluetooth. It is capable of displaying incoming texts, emails, calls, and just about anything else from your smartphone.

I finally received my Pebble on 4/20 after backing it over a year ago on Kickstarter.pebble_box I originally ordered a white one, but a few weeks ago they sent me an email saying they were unsure when the white watches were going to ship and offered the opportunity to switch colors. Being the patient person I am, I immediately replied OK’ing the switch.

I’ve had Pebble on my wrist for a little over a week and a TLDR for you would be, “I don’t know what I did before it.” For starters, the watch tells you the time! I never owned a watch before, and always pulled my phone out of my pocket to check the time. Well with Pebble, that’s a thing of the past! Jokes aside, when a text or email comes through to your phone, the watch vibrates and promptly displays the message and sender right on the display. It’s insanely convenient to not have to pull a phone out of your pocket to see who is trying to reach you.

During calls, it also shows who you are talking with and how long the conversation has been going on for, which has more uses than you can  think of. The watch faces are super easy to switch and fairly simple to create. My Pebble Faces is a quick showcase site that lets you quickly download other users designs. Much of the software is open allowing developers to hack away creating their wildest dreams.

The only thing I wish it had is a microphone so I could do quick dictation replies. You instinctively want to respond right from the watch after reading a text. Maybe future iterations will carry such a feature. The rumors say that since Google went with Glass, Apple is most likely working on a watch to further the wearable tech. If they come up with anything as easy and awesome as Pebble, people will be lining up for weeks to get one!

Leave a Reply

