Internet Challenges Need To Stop

I woke up today feeling pretty good. I didn’t have class until 12:35 so I had some time to browse my usual sites and relax a bit. However, this is what I was greeted with:

If you could not stomach the video, The Condom Challenge tasks the participant to snort a condom through their nostril and pull it through their nostril without chocking to death.

I really do not have many words for this. I am still baffled that this exists. I think this challenge is a prime example why all these internet challenges need to stop. In the past these challenges were not potentially deadly, so they were much more enjoyable. A prime example is the Cinnamon Challenge:

Or the Milk Challenge:

With the emergence of new challenges brings more risk. The chances of that girl suffocating because a condom was lodged in her nose is pretty high so some sort of “Your child is about to do something completely stupid” warning should be administered. At least try to eliminate these challenges from becoming viral because sooner or later someone is going to get seriously hurt and then that is when the real problems will arise.

2 thoughts on “Internet Challenges Need To Stop

  1. I feel like it depends on their age as well. One girl (middle school aged I assume) did something very gross (I’m not even going to say what it is) and posted it on YouTube. Just browsing through Twitter to see more of her personality, I learned that she did this in order to become famous and get more followers on twitter. I feel like people do this because the more crazier a person is, the more they get noticed.

  2. Wow that is really stupid. It makes me wonder why do these people feel the need to respond to such challenges? Is everyone just trying to get famous? Do they really think the opinions of strangers is that important? I think that such challenges are really directed towards teenagers who are still looking for that approval from other people, but later on they will regret it. It can become a permanent on the internet, and they will not be able to do anything about it when they are older and wiser wishing the videos did not exist.

Leave a Reply

