Thoughts on my final project

 

 
Scared is not even the word to describe how I felt at the beginning of this semester.
Knowing I was taking a class that had to do with technology, any type of technology, kind of
worried me. Mind you I didn’t even know of the existence of the Internet until I was about 9
years old, and when I did access it, it was solely to fail miserably at playing Gunbound(really I
just liked dressing the characters). Now I find myself typing this entry on Google Docs,just one
of the causes of countless panicky e-mails corresponded thus far this semester. Although a
small step to mankind, feeling more at ease with technology is a huge leap for me in the
sense of doors being opened to alternative ways of communication, power to reach the
masses and bring people together.
 
As I discussed my final project last week in class, I realized just how powerful
technology could be when realizing a project such as mine, where the ultimate goal is the
collaboration of various individuals, even worldwide. I would love a place where not only I
describe current events, key locations and my experiences, but a platform of education,
support and expression for others who “are there”, covering these social justice movements,
immigration reform manifestations, even kids who are struggling to “define” their identity can
express their concerns, feelings and find support from many of us who have gone through
similar facets in our lives. Just like we have read of different immigration waves in our history
classes through textbooks and the like, we can now learn of THIS period of history, where it’s
not just one wave of immigrants coming to America and similar first-world countries, but
individuals from all over the world are packing up and leaving their homes simultaneously,
chasing their dreams in a new land. WE are living through these times, WE can share our
stories and WE can support and educate not just one another, but people who may not be
knowledgeable or necessarily welcoming to the fact that this world is no longer black and
white, there is a whole lot of gray to be explored.
 
Topics from politics, to less serious consequences of immigration such as fashion
fusions, foods and music all can be discussed through the blog, no matter the background of
the author, everyone is welcome to share their experiences, thoughts and ideas, like I said
earlier we can all be a part of documenting THIS time in the history of the world, after all,
aren’t we the ones surrounded by it every day? That is the beauty of technology in a project
like this, a place can be created where no matter who you are or where you are from, you are
welcome to tell of your story, receive support and find others like you; through a common
place on the web we can not only document these events and tumultuous times, but create a
network of individuals who celebrate the human diversity of this Earth we call home.
 
Image

 

 
Leave a Reply

