The Next Big Thing

ImageThe future of the automobile has arrived. Introduced at the Consumer Electronics Show earlier this year, the black Bentley Continental GTC now features a dashboard iPad lookalike. While the price for this luxury vehicle is a staggering $191,000 it will most likely serve as the future to the automobile industry. Soon enough, all car brands will take part in this futuristic dashboard. As if we don’t already have enough distractions driving, the dashboard contains a massive 17-in touchscreen, 3-D maps, and even videoconferencing–this really worries me. While I will definitely not be purchasing a Bentley in the near future, I’m sure sometime down the road my car will be constructed with similar features. Although, I’m not sure how I feel about this. Texting while driving is the cause to so many deaths, now we’re adding video-conferencing among other things? Does this make sense? Cars began ensuring safety by adding hands-free talk through your mobile device, now they’re encouraging video conferencing while driving. Taking part in a video conference while driving means that your eyes are not on the road. More accidents and deaths will be a direct result of this feature. I’m curious to see how officials will take part in implementing new laws regarding such extreme technological measures. Obviously, new safety laws and regulations need to be put into place.

2 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing

  1. You are not alone in thinking videoconferencing is dangerous to be doing while driving. I think the entire new invention is a safety risk to be honest. But that’s not to say I wouldn’t gladly accept this Bentley, or any Bentley for that matter, in a heartbeat. It may be deemed unsafe by consumers, but I really don’t think the appeal will go away; there will always be buyers for any make that a Bentley creates. Does that say something about the people in the consumer market nowadays?

  2. I completely agree that this is a little crazy. But like said, videoconferencing while driving is completely outrageous. I know I would never been able to concentrate while I’m driving if there basically is a computer on my dashboard. But again, there will always be people who are attracted by this feature.

Leave a Reply

