People of Walmart…

unnamed

Wal-Mart, oh Wal-Mart. I was not able to attend class on 2/26 so I took it upon myself to watch the “People of Wal-Mart” video. Wow. That is all I can say. That was crazy. After watching it I googled “worst of Wal-mart” and this is what I found. I just cannot believe that some of these people would leave their homes like that.

people-of-walmart-455_200110124438.

Personally, I love going to Wal-mart. In my home town there was a Wal-mart but it was on the smaller side. Last February the new Super Wal-Mart open right down the road from the old Wal-Mart. It has anything you could really need or want. I love going there. If I need anything I always go to Wal-Mart first. they seem to always have the lowest prices and are the most convenient.  And I do not know where all these people are coming from because I have never seen anything like them at my local Wal-Mart. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve definitely seen people in their pajamas, or in less than fitting outfits and such but I can honestly say nothing as bad or worse than these images. I feel like people like them a major reason why Wal-Mart has such a bad reputation. This is of course overlooking the politics of the corporation of Wal-Mart and simply looking at this from a consumer’s point of view. To me, there is nothing wrong with shopping at Wal-Mart for anything really. I even to this day buy clothing there. I am not ashamed or embarrassed of that fact. I do not buy all my clothes there but I occasionally find some really cute items that are very popular and Wal-Mart happens to be selling them for a cheaper price than other popular clothing stores. Therefore, i have no problem buying that item at Wal-Mart and saving myself a few dollars. On the other hand, there are people who do not like Wal-Mart and believe it is a place where only poor people shop. To them, I say, to each their own.

nice-bow

5 thoughts on “People of Walmart…

  1. How embarrassing to be featured in this video as a person of Walmart? The people of Walmart should have been expected to be pictured and exposed in some way or form simply because of their appearance. The way these characters left their homes and came to Walmart was unacceptable. Some were underdressed, exposing their butt cracks and bellies, some were dragging their kids around the store, while others were just whacky. Most of whom were obese. We have to do better, this video made Walmart look bad imposing that crazy people shop there to save a quick buck. Personally i love Walmart, but I am not crazy.

  2. I love walmart also, there is nothing wrong with shopping there to save money ( not looking too deeply into the actual consequences walmart has on the American economy). I thought the video was really funny, and I mean why not? let me grab a few snacks and get a zoo-like experience at the same time. In my hometown the superwalmart is fairly decent, with of course the occasional person in their pajamas or unforgiving attire. if people choose to present themselves in public this way, then they should be okay with being seen by many others via the people of walmart website. nobody in this world is perfect, but there is a difference between unfortunate and just plain disrespect for others.

  3. I totally agree with you! There’s really nothing wrong with shopping at Walmart..it’s an affordable store that sells the same products you’d find at any other store. The consumers (like the ones featured in this lovely video) that shop at this store just happen to not be the classiest people out there. They are the ones that give it a bad rep. I’m not sure why people go out dressed like this and I’m not sure why they think it’s okay, but to each his own.

  4. I do not really frequent Wal-Mart, so seeing all these people dressed in such bizarre ways/clothing really threw me off. Is Wal-Mart really known for having customers dress like that? (I guess they are if they have their own website.) But judging by commercials, it seems like Wal-Mart is a store with good prices and deals. I am sure they are not avidly seeking to attract these specific kinds of consumers, so it really isn’t their fault if their clientele presents themselves in such ways. I hope that because of these shoppers, they aren’t losing other customers.

  5. I think we watched this video as an example of how video essays can have an idea but not necessarily say something specific in execution – I don’t think that she was tryyyyyying to say anything other than haha look at this… so I think using the video as an example of what not to do for our essays wasn’t the best choice because it’s meant to provide more comedy then commentary… any way, does anyone know any good video essays on youtube I could check out ? I’m still not sure what components make a video essay work.

Leave a Reply

