Tatted

Tatting one’s body with art is beautiful, in most cases. A lot of people have controversal opinions when it comes to the topic of having tattoos, especially as a female. My name is Jennah, and I’m not addicted but I love tattoos. There’s something about the pain in getting one that i enjoy. Its like having surgery, revealing a beautiful scar. The first step to overcoming this “phase” is admitting and surrendering to the fact that I love tattoos; i have four in total but have plans for getting many more. My first tattoo is a purple rose on the left side of my neck behind my ear, it symbolizes eternal beauty in Arabic…purple is just my favorite color and represents loyalty and royalty. I have Arabic writing on my right shoulder that says “No creator save Allah, Mohammad is an apostle of Allah.” I have a multicolored peacock feather down my spine, which in fact was the most painful but blissful. My last one is a giant colorful koi fish on my right hip that i cannot wait to add on to.

Image

I always feel as though i am being frowned upon because i am Muslim, and am not supposed to alter my body in any way, shape, or form. So here I was at 16-years-old facing an ethical decision of whether or not to get a tattoo. I wanted one so bad and would be the first of my friends to get one. I decided finally on getting one because it is the way i’m choosing to express myself. Each one of my tattoos has great meaning and intangible value to me. I wouldn’t change a thing about them.

However… my parents feel differently. They don’t want me to get any more….ever. But I just figured I’m grown, right? I’m old enough to make my own decisions, and still to this day i have zero regrets.

Leave a Reply

