Apps Are Ruining Our Lives

Five years ago I bought my first smart phone. Within the next five years I decided I needed, then subsequently acquired a new laptop, Android and iPad. All of these devices now basically run my life. There are apps for everything now. On just my personal devices I have apps for Netflix, Hbo, foursquare, horoscopes, translators, trip planning, music editing and even a virtual piano. 

Jenna Marbles, who most people are familiar with, says it the best in this video:

She describes all these useless apps that she can’t live without now that she has them. She, like me and most others, realize that our addiction to apps is unhealthy but we still can’t stop. After watching this video, I literally won’t to my iPad and downloaded some of the apps she was talking about.

Additionally, my best friend wrote a satirical blog post on the use of apps. He talks about how there are apps for everything so he made up his own app names based on ones that already exist.

http://lecabaretdemania.blogspot.com/2013/02/new-apps-2013.html

So my point is to show that this addiction to apps might be comparable to alcohol or drug addiction. But most people fail to see that young people have real alcohol addictions because they embrace the fact that partying at that age is the norm. I think that same thinking is applied to all of these technologies and people fail to see it as an issue.

4 thoughts on “Apps Are Ruining Our Lives

  1. The video is really good illustration of just how much competition there is today for our attention, time, and most importantly money. We are spending real actual money on things that are useless, time consuming, intangible, and ultimately not even that entertaining but extremely addictive. The sad part is that someone is actually make a profit from all of this. It seems like the really useful apps are the ones that most people don’t use, but the games and social media ones run our lives. No one wonder we are so distracted in our everyday lives…someone or something is constantly seeking our attention on the devices that we carry around everywhere we go.

  2. I came to a similar consensus earlier on in the year. It truly is scary how much time one can waste, spending time using apps. I’ve found myself spending an hour or three, depending on what apps I am using. I mostly have (time management) games on my iPhone, but when it comes to other apps, I usually delete them if I find them lacking. I recently deleted many apps that I don’t use as frequently, which has really saved me a lot of time. For some of the apps, you can find websites online that are far more informative and up-to-date. One thing about Jenna Marbles’ video that I related to was the issue of more or less being forced into buying in-app purchases with real money. The developers of the apps are most likely thinking of more ways to spend money on something you may delete in the future on a whim.

  3. While I don’t actually play App games, I’ve browsed through the App store on my phone before and the things they have on there are very tempting. A huge amount of apps are free to download, which was what most surprised me. But, even that is a scam by the makers to make money as jen1227 stated. While I’ve seen people who will literally play the app games for hours without end, I’ve noticed several useful apps as well. There are dictionary and news station apps, which are the few I’ve downloaded, and save you the trouble of browsing the internet when you’re in a rush. I suppose like everything else it comes down to how you use the resources provided you.

  4. I find it very difficult to get through my day with out instagraming. Not only am I using this app everyday but I am slowly adhering to its aesthetic norms and judging others who deviate from them – my friends make fun of me because i only put ‘artsy’ things up on instagram, and silly things on Facebook. But in all seriousness apps are not only ‘ruining our lives’ as some believe, but they creating and maintaining new social systems around aesthetic values: assigning the clique to certain instagram themes and ‘artsy’ to others (which are also clique). its interesting to see how apps involving photo sharing ‘ruin’ different views on aesthetics (such as the use of filters on instagram).

Leave a Reply

