Overwhelmed by Technology

 

overwhelmed

Today when I woke up I checked my scarletmail account. I don’t usually actually go into it- everything is forwarded to my normal gmail account- but I checked just to clear out some of the accumulated junk. What I found bothered me. I had at least one email a day from three out of my six class classes (some had more than one email a day!). There was dozens of sakai notifications confirming posts I’d made, and that posts I’d made had been read. There was also an obscene amount of information from housing, none of which actually helped guide me through the new lottery process.

When I checked my phone there were more emails, texts, facebook notifications, and updates to install. Instant work for me to do, before 8 am. This technology is supposed to make our lives easier, better. Why do I feel so overwhelmed then?

When I logged in to check out the blog I got the same feeling. Totally overwhelmed. There is so much information, and embedded in that information are links to websites with more information, which of course cite and reference and shoot you to other places.

Some days I handle the internet and technology just fine, but today I feel like a rat in a maze. There is so much out there, and I can’t help but feel lost. My computer skills are fine and its not like I don’t know how to navigate the web. It just seems so ridiculous. What are we losing in the constant tagging and emailing and notifying of things? It feels like so much must be taken out of context or have been poorly researched. With the need to rapidly post and notify I think we’re losing a lot (and not just our sanity).

And I’m not the only one who feels this way. A third of adults in a Cambridge study felt the same way- and so did 38% of kids 10-18. People, even when equipped with the tools to deal with technology, are feeling overwhelmed by it.

To make things better, the video I had attached to this post didn’t come up when I hit publish.  I hate the internet.

4 thoughts on “Overwhelmed by Technology

  1. Thats a good point, the more we rely on technology the more we become dependent on it, I’m sorry about your day’s experience. When time passes, and technology becomes from a “need” to a “want” thats when we feel overwhelmed. Thats a great point you mentioned, ” I feel like a rat in a maze. There is so much out there, and I can’t help but feel lost.” It all depends on the mood. Yes, technology does overwhelm us if we go to extremes in matters of no benefits

  2. I can completely relate to how you feel about feeling overwhelmed. My biggest pet peeve is when I have tons of emails in the morning, or when my phone decides that every app on it needs to be updated right away. Sometimes I feel like I’m drowning in the upkeep of the technology that is supposed to make our lives easier. Keeping up with emails, having the latest update installed on my phone, reading all the tweets and statuses on Facebook, seeing all the new pictures on Instagram. Obviously, most of this stuff really does not matter at all. However, the obsession we all have with technology makes it seem as if we need to keep up with the “new” and “latest” stuff. It’s kind of sad, actually.

  3. This is so true. (Well, not the internet hating part) but, being overwhelmed. When I go to check my e-mail it’s not so simple as opening it up and seeing if there’s anything important. It’s more like opening it, finding dozens of new spam and useless messages, getting overwhelmed and closing it. I miss important stuff all the time, and no matter how often I opt out of receiving things from certain senders it always seems twice the amount comes. Technology is overwhelming and I think it may be leading to even more anxiety in people, students especially. When you have tons of e-mail to sort through, you always have that nagging feeling you might have missed an important announcement.

  4. I also really agree with you. Usually, on my phone in the mornings, I check to see if I have any new updates. (They’re mostly school-related/sakai notifications.) A lot of times, I find myself merely glancing at/deleting the e-mails just because sometimes I get tired of the constant bombardment. It truly can be very overwhelming, having so much technology at out fingertips to do virtually anything and everything we want. Even checking websites that I really love sometimes seems like such a hassle. Sometimes you just question, what is the point of all of this?

Leave a Reply

