Why I Might Blog

Before this semester I never had a blog, nor really ever considered blogging. Now i have two classes where i have to create blogs. At first, it was some what overwhelming and I’m still trying to get the hang of it. After reading Why I Blog, I started thinking that I might want to start up my own personal blog outside of class. In the article Andrew Sullivan writes, “Blogging is therefore to writing what extreme sports are to athletics: more free-form, more accident-prone, less formal, more alive.” I really liked this quote because it changed the way I look at most writing.  Most of my writing experience so far has been pretty much just been writing papers, which is the opposite of “more free-form, more accident-prone.” Especially in Expos, where it feel like i was writing the same paper every week. This semester has opened up my eyes to the idea of writing for fun.

blogging

As I pondered on the idea of starting a personal blog, some questions arose. What would I write about? Would anyone read it or even care about what i have to write? I figured i would probably just write about music and professional wrestling (yea, i know its fake), since those are my main interests. Even if know one reads it, i might be fun just to write.

So if you blog or even if you don’t, I’d love to hear your thoughts on blogging!

2 thoughts on “Why I Might Blog

  1. I think that people with common interests such as the ones that you mentioned will actually read. They will some how find the blog if it is public be interested in what you have to say. I think its good to have a blog even though I currently dont have one because it lets you get out your thoughts and communicate with other people to their reactions to the topic. So you build on what you already know about a subject. It helps add to your curiosity in a way. We all have these random thoughts in our heads, but when we write them down and share them, then we can actually gain something from these thoughts because its a way of exploring them.

  2. I love this post! I tried to start a blog a year or two ago, mostly because a friend had encouraged me and helped to set it up. The whole thing seemed sort of daunting…like what were my few posts in the grand scheme of things? I felt as though I was sort of taking up space on the web or something. I was always wondering if what I was writing was important enough to be documented. I also vacillated between personal posts and then very random posts about things like food and movies. My first experience in blogging was sort of weird. I’m actually sort of relieved to hear that other new bloggers are feeling similar! Its strange to be a “book” kid in the internet age.

Leave a Reply

