Pics For Sale.. and Us Too.

When Instagram first emerged it seemed absolutely amazing to so many users including myself.  I decided to download the free application from the app store because of the five star reviews it got and amazing reviews from various users and strangers of the teenage-middle aged group of people using it.  It was a way to display pictures that you felt were important and create a piece of digital art out of those photos through the various filters and frames it provided.  

Image

Each persons photo stream acted as a “gallery” to show off their favorite fashion, music, art, quotes, or my personal favorite.. food. It was a great idea because it enabled users to “tag” such topics, words, or phrases of their choice and it led them to an entire different gallery of hundreds to thousands of pictures that users all over the globe posted pictures and tagged the same type of word.  So maybe if you were hungry and inspired about making different cupcakes you could hash-tag the word “cupcake” and then find a whole new world of different cupcake ideas that millions of users had posted.  It was a unique, creative, and simple way to express ideas and photos of whatever each individual may like.  I actually end up spending more time browsing through Instagram to find new users, ideas, fashion tips, and a little inspiration when I’m not feeling so happy than I do using Facebook – which I never thought would happen. But in recent news, the harmless little individual art gallery that remained private if you simply locked your account isn’t so private anymore.  With the new Privacy Policy Instagram recently enacted, the company now has the right to sell your photos without your approval.  Image

All of a sudden the harmless, fun, creative, digital photo gallery became a bit risky and didn’t seem so fun anymore. But “As the old internet saying goes, “If you use something for free, you are the product for sale.” Said Nathan Bransford.  Selling people’s photos to different companies to advertise or create revenue was never in the previous Terms of Use and a lot of people are upset about the terms and rightfully so.  If I have my content locked on Instagram, regardless of whether I was a free user, I still should have the rights to my own photos but that is no longer the case.  In rebuttal to people’s concerns for their privacy being protected, Instagram came out to say that the people will be compensated for their photos used, if any. It still is all a bit too risky if you ask me. Even if I were to be compensated for my pictures, who’s to say I wanted them sold in the first place? Instagram is definitely walking on eggshells with this one.  For creating a wonderful app that so many people love and enjoy because it coincides with so much positivity and carefree living through the use of beautiful and unique imagery, they are definitely throwing the wrecking ball into this one by bringing on a lot of angry users.  If people wanted their pictures sold or advertised, they wouldn’t have set their settings to private. It makes me a little uneasy to know that the little privacy we do have is slowly diminishing through technology.  It also puts it into perspective for as much good as technology brings, there are also many downfalls

6 thoughts on “Pics For Sale.. and Us Too.

  1. I agree with you completely with this and in fact, the app received so much negative feedback due to its change in terms of service that they changed the terms of service back to the original ones about a week after changing them.

  2. I agree with what you’re saying. The new terms really changed people’s opinions of Instagram. I really just shows people how our society is driven around money. There’s always something for sale, even when it’s free. People or products are always trying to get publicity that the public really doesn’t know what to believe in anymore.

  3. That’s so frightening! I understand that they want to make some profit from their otherwise profitless app, but it would have made more sense to have a one time or monthly fee for the app than to invade the trust and privacy of the people using it. This makes me wonder how many online services we take for granted actually use the content we generate or upload in less innocent ways.

  4. It is absolutely horrifying to think of some of my instagram pictures being used for advertising without my consent or knowledge. When the new terms were first released, there was jibber jabber from almost all of my followers saying come January 16, 2013 (when the new terms were scheduled to come into play) they were going to deactivate their instagram accounts. It is February 10, 2013 and we haven’t gone anywhere.

  5. It is very likely that they will not be selling that many of the pictures on Instagram because they know that this will anger the users and deter people from using their site. I don’t know, maybe it won’t. Although I don’t support the idea of the website using people’s pictures without their consent, how much would you guys all be angered if they did use one of your pictures under certain conditions? Would you guys get mad if they sold the pictures and made a profit off of it, even though you posted the picture on that site with no intent of making money off of it? What if they didn’t sell it but just wanted to use the picture for whatever reason, and it wasn’t a picture that you considered private? What if you knew that they had a deal with the images that you see on buildings in Manhattan, and you one day saw your picture in the middle of times square? I think that would be pretty cool to see, as long as I knew why the picture was up there and as long as it wasn’t something like me and my mom (why would they want to advertise THAT?)

    I do like to play Devil’s Advocate sometimes.

  6. I must start by saying I do not use Instagram… although I’m not totally against it, I never really felt it necessary to put pictures up on a social networking site simply because I thought they were noteworthy or of importance to me. I take pictures of random things that I like ALL the time.. but they go into a folder on my computer… not onto the web or other apps such as instagram, snapchat, or any others. So I can definitely feel for those who have been angered by this new Privacy policy… however, if you’re going to be paid for taking really fantastic pictures, as long as you are notified and actually paid for it then I think that is absolutely fabulous. Not for nothing, but if you don’t want your photos being accessed, no amount of “Privacy Settings” can protect your ANYTHING from the internet and its vast pool of EVERYTHING.

Leave a Reply

