A Child of the Internet

The internet makes sense to me. I know how it works. I know how it moves. I know what it eats, breaths, and shits (excuse the rather nasty metaphor). At least in a general sense. I pretty much have spent my entire life connected to it in some way. Or when I was very young, I was being ‘set up’ to be connected to it all the time. So I’m always surprised when I come across someone who isn’t familiar with it at all. Sure, there are some people who don’t use it that much or they only use it for specific things that interest them, but when I find someone who has no idea how it operates  my first thought it “You’re missing out”.

Growing up in the “digital age” or the “Internet wave” (I put quotes around that last one, but I may be just making up a new phrase), I was never intimidated by it. And I feel that many people in society are. Maybe they aren’t actively intimidated, “Oh my GOD, what is this THING?!” sort of intimidation, but they certainly keep their distance, poke at it and then grimace, obtain massive headaches, or just give up and walk away altogether.

The internet has had astounding affects on different fronts. It has changed the publishing industry, communication, the music industry, etc. etc. etc. Pretty much anything you can think of, really. But what seems to me to be taking the longest is the education front that is being changed. Communication, music and publishing companies have figured out a way to adapt and change. They have gone through a sort of “apocalypse” (or back to paulmpb82’s post, Is It Still Possible to Be a Child of the Book?), and with a few of the smaller record companies, cell phone companies, and publishing companies down and out of the race, the movements as a whole have come out and have survived.

This is, of course, my own speculation, because I don’t have all the experience in the world, and there is so much more research to be done, but it seems to me that the education system is still at the start of their apocalypse. They are trying as hard as they can to fight for as long as they can in order to keep people from realizing that the system needs to change. It’s changed in small ways, only baby steps. But I have found that most of the teachers I have dealt with look at the internet and make that sort of grimace with their face. Don’t mention the internet, it’s full of silly videos of cats and babies. But I’m here to tell you that there is so much more that can be done with it. The possibilities are near endless. Even this article, or blog post, whatever you will, is lacking in exploring all those possibilities. It is built in a way that allows you to learn and be mentally stimulated in nearly any desirable way. Also, it’s nearly free in comparison to other avenues.

Don’t get me wrong. I did also grow up reading books and writing hand written letters and listening to cassettes (and shortly after, CDs). So I’ve straddled both worlds for a little. Seeing both, I don’t have any fear of the ‘old world’ will completely disappear. Sure, it may diminish, but it will always have it’s place because it gives an entirely different feel. It’s personal in ways that the internet isn’t. But then, of course, the internet can be very personal through blogs, and vlogs, and having your own personal web-space. It really has to do with not just appreciating the stuff of the web, but also contributing to it. And that’s what I’m here to do.

One thought on “A Child of the Internet

  1. I like this post of yours for two reasons. One, I love the way you keep your reader’s attention with your unapologetic honesty, yet keeping your post professional. second, because I get to see the point of view of someone on the exact opposite side of the spectrum from me. growing up in the third world I had minimal access to technology, to the point that I learned my typing “skills” (if you can call them that) from a typewriter. the Internet was only available from “Internet cafe’s” which were somewhat expensive, and in my school years calligraphy was emphasized so only a minimal usage of even Microsoft Word was needed. Though I thoroughly enjoyed that time of my life, I do feel that I am at a disadvantage because of my lack of exposure to the web, when put next to a person such as yourself who grew up alongside the Internet. though it has been a bit of a shock, I like the challenge and feel as though it is necessary, because the Internet and technology is advancing very quickly and becoming a bigger part of our every day lives. we can’t just hope it will go away and expect to go back to the times before it existed, it will only become more significant as the time passes. for those of us who may be a bit behind it may be difficult, but the advantages of a modern world are definitely worth the adaptation.

Leave a Reply

